TheRPGSite

Pen & Paper Roleplaying Central => Pen and Paper Roleplaying Games (RPGs) Discussion => Topic started by: Yig on April 25, 2006, 12:38:12 PM

Title: Sneak attack + blink
Post by: Yig on April 25, 2006, 12:38:12 PM
Can you sneak attack someone under the effect of blink?

The receiver of the SA is blinking, not the senaker :)
Title: Sneak attck + blink
Post by: Name Lips on April 25, 2006, 12:57:59 PM
Blinking does not deny you your dexterity bonus.

While blinking, you can still see and react to things that are going on around you. Just sometimes they're hazy and ethereal-looking.
Title: Sneak attck + blink
Post by: Yig on April 25, 2006, 01:02:34 PM
Quote from: Name LipsBlinking does not deny you your dexterity bonus.

While blinking, you can still see and react to things that are going on around you. Just sometimes they're hazy and ethereal-looking.

The bad guy is under a blink spell and he is flanked by a fighter and a rogue.

Can the rogue SA him?
Title: Sneak attck + blink
Post by: Name Lips on April 25, 2006, 01:06:04 PM
Quote from: YigThe bad guy is under a blink spell and he is flanked by a fighter and a rogue.

Can the rogue SA him?
I'd say, sure, he's flanked while he's blinked in, so you can SA him.

But I think the rules say that any amount of miss chance or concealment totally and completely negates SA.
Title: Sneak attck + blink
Post by: Technicolor Dreamcoat on April 25, 2006, 11:15:01 PM
The blinker get's concealment, doesn't he?

So no SA.

Quote from: SRDBlink
Physical attacks against you have a 50% miss chance, and the Blind-Fight feat doesn’t help opponents, since you’re ethereal and not merely invisible. If the attack is capable of striking ethereal creatures, the miss chance is only 20% (for concealment).

If the attacker can see invisible creatures, the miss chance is also only 20%. (For an attacker who can both see and strike ethereal creatures, there is no miss chance.) Likewise, your own attacks have a 20% miss chance, since you sometimes go ethereal just as you are about to strike.
QuoteSneak Attack
A rogue can sneak attack only living creatures with discernible anatomies—undead, constructs, oozes, plants, and incorporeal creatures lack vital areas to attack. Any creature that is immune to critical hits is not vulnerable to sneak attacks. The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot. A rogue cannot sneak attack while striking a creature with concealment or striking the limbs of a creature whose vitals are beyond reach.
Title: Sneak attck + blink
Post by: Yig on April 26, 2006, 12:38:59 AM
Technically you're not concealed, you're not there!

The spell only mention a miss chance, not concealment.

If you make your 50% roll, the target is there, so in theory you should be able to SA it no?
Title: Sneak attck + blink
Post by: Ottomsoh the Elderly on April 26, 2006, 06:37:02 AM
No. The spell does provoke concealment, too.

   If the attack is capable of striking ethereal creatures, the miss chance is only 20% (for concealment).
Title: Sneak attck + blink
Post by: Bagpuss on April 26, 2006, 06:40:42 AM
I'ld agree with Yig. If you make the 50% roll they are physically in the real world and visible there is no reason you can't sneak attack them.
Title: Sneak attck + blink
Post by: Bagpuss on April 26, 2006, 06:43:45 AM
Quote from: Ottomsoh the ElderlyNo. The spell does provoke concealment, too.

   If the attack is capable of striking ethereal creatures, the miss chance is only 20% (for concealment).

Yes but they only have the concealment for 50% of the time.
The easiest (although not perhaps mathematically correct) way to do this with one roll is...

1-20 - You miss due to concealment from invisible.
21-50 - You hit but can't do sneak attack damage as they are invisible.
50-100 - You hit and can sneak attack as they are visible in the real world.